Anthony Watts

Poet - Anthony Watts

ANTHONY WATTS has been writing ‘seriously’ for about 40 years. He has had poems published in magazines and anthologies in addition to four published collections: Strange Gold (KQBX Press, 1991), The Talking Horses of Dreams (Iron Press, 1999), Steart Point & other poems (John Garland, 2009) and The Shell Gatherer (Oversteps, 2011). He has won the Lake Aske Memorial Award 1978, the Michael Johnson Memorial Prize 1979, the S.T. Coleridge Memorial Poetry Prize 2008 and first prizes in competitions run by Rotherham Metro Writers (2001), Preston Writers Guild (2001 & 2002), Christchurch Writers (1993, 2002, 2004, 2006, and 2007), Norwich Writers (2008), East Coker Poetry Group (2008) and Dillington Poets (1994), Mungrisedale Writers (2013), Poetry Space (2013) and Somerset Libraries (2013). He was also a runner up in the 1982 Arvon Foundation Competition. His poems have been broadcast on BBC Radio 4 and Somerset Sound.

Rural Somerset has been his home for most of his life and he has no plans to leave it. His main interests in life are poetry, music, thinking and messing about outdoors.

Links to a selection of Anthony’s poems
Butterfly Hill
The Hardy-Lovers
The River…